|
Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
 |
|
 |
|
 |

09-23-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Advantage Administrative Solutions
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, MN
Posts: 301
|
|
Is this a scam?
I responded back to this email:
"I am seeking an Admin Assistant. The starting salary will be up to $300
per week duties will include filing, printing, organizing schedules,
and some billing. (Knowledge of Microsoft Word, Excel, Outlook & Quick
books is a plus and NOT COMPULSORY). Applicant Must know how use online
CHECK SOFTWARE very well. And you only work online. Contact Robert
Williams my email robwi451@gmail.com with any questions or to apply
directly to this position."
I told Robert Williams that I was interested in this position and that he should look at my website for more information. I was a little skeptical because he is using gmail.
This is the email that I got back from him today:
"Dear ,
Thanks a lot for your interest in the position. You will be our Payroll Manager, who will work as our representative in United States .You will be a Payroll Manager for posting Payments and Documents to our clients and I will give you guide lines as we proceed. Meanwhile, before you are qualified,you must have Computer and Printer with internet ready and get Check Soft 2008 at Staples or Office Max store around you and have it downloaded on your computer. COMPANY SERVICE is a well established manufacturing Firm, that delivers high quality precision furniture's products to some of the largest and best known companies in far back Asia, the regions Of America and rest of the world for a long time.
You will find our high quality furniture's in the BEST products on the market today.We serve the entire United States and a growing export market, particularly in the supplies of selected products. Superior products including Sofas & Love seats, Bedding Ensembles, Chairs & Ottomans.
Your primary task for now as a Payroll Manager and as a Representative of the company, is to co-ordinate and post payments to our Clients via following COURIER SERVICE company such as DHL, FEDEX or UPS Courier Service
You are not involved in any sales, You'll have a lot of free time doing another job, because this job is part time and you'll get good income. But this job is very challenging and you should understand it. If you are interested in the job,Get back to us with information below information and your qualifications. So that we can add your mailing address to our Regional database .
First name...................
Middle name...................
Last name....................
Address Line 1................
Address Line 2...............
City.........................
State.........................
Zip/Postal code..............
Age..........................
Marital Status...............
Nationality..................
Home phone...................
Cell phone...................
Do you have yahoo instant messenger .....
A swift acknowledgment of the receipt of this email will be appreciated.
Thanks For Your Total Understanding.
Robert Williams"
This just screams scam to me. Any thoughts?
__________________
Erika Glem 
www.advadminsol.com Let my administrative solutions be to your advantage.
|
|

09-23-2009
|
|
New Member
Company name: Virtual_Viviante
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 31
Blog Entries: 1
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
Yes this is a scam!!!!!!!!!!! Stay far far away why would someone need your nationality and marital status do hire you! I have received emails like this in response to an ad that I replied to. I guarantee that if you don't respond in 24-48 hours you will get another email asking are you still interested. And also NEVER NEVER send a copy of your license with the driver license number showing. Someone requested this information and I almost sent it to them with all my information. I thought twice about it and covered my driver license number and any pertinent information. I was told to resend it along with more personal information. I backed away immediately and because I covered up my information I didn't feel that they could use my identity...
As a VA we must protect ourselves! In the future request company information and see if this company exist and if the "employee" trying to contact you is legit.
__________________
Have a Great Day on Purpose!!!!!!!!!!!
|
|

09-23-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Advantage Administrative Solutions
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, MN
Posts: 301
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
Thank you. I am so fustrated with these emails. The first email looked real listing all of the different tasks, the time that it was sent was before 5pm, and I googled his email and name and nothing showed up, so I replied to his email with out giving him information except my website.
__________________
Erika Glem 
www.advadminsol.com Let my administrative solutions be to your advantage.
|
|

09-23-2009
|
|
Contributing Member
Company name: Encore Typing Services
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 80
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
I saw this ad on Craigslist, yes it is a scam. There are so many people placing Ads like this one, you can't tell which ones are real anymore.
|
|

09-23-2009
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: The Wordpro Wizard
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 690
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
Scam .... run away as fast as you can!
Lynne
|
|

09-25-2009
|
 |
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Quakertown PA
Posts: 47
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
oh yeah - i was a recruiter for a while and that is not the way you look for someone - and especially not the way to hire someone right off the bat like that! sorry!
|
|

09-25-2009
|
 |
Contributing Member
Company name: Ideal VA
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 149
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
I recieved an email some time back about purchasing a check printing software. They would pay me 800 a month to just print checks. That sounded great, except for the simple fact he said he would pay me western union and was hearing impaired so we could only chat. Maybe it was true, I don't know. But I wasn't going to risk it. It seemed altogether odd. So, recently I have seen where some people have gotten a similar email. I am happy I trusted my gut. You should go with your first instinct!
__________________
Have a fantastic day! Dekota 
Aspiring VA
|
|

09-25-2009
|
 |
Resident Member
Company name: Action Jackson Virtual Assistant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,213
Blog Entries: 2
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
This is a scam. Remember just like VA's should have a company email so should those who run businesses online. Anytime someone wants you to email them and they have a free email account, website etc then that is red flag number 1. Anytime they need more information before they even talk to you screams red flag 2.
Andrea~
|
|

09-25-2009
|
 |
Contributing Member
Company name: Virtual Admin Options
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 54
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
Other obvious indicators in these scam e-mails are the glaring grammatical errors and the "put on" professional decorum.
|
|

09-25-2009
|
 |
Contributing Member
Company name: UNIQUELY40, LLC
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 243
Blog Entries: 6
|
|
|
Re: Is this a scam?
Like I always say before you dive into anything investigate.
1. Red flags and siren are going off with this one:
Thanks a lot for your interest in the position. You will be our Payroll Manager, who will work as our representative in United States .You will be a Payroll Manager for posting Payments and Documents to our clients and I will give you guide lines as we proceed
2. Exact where is the company located, what is the name and what is the product?
COMPANY SERVICE is a well established manufacturing Firm, that delivers high quality precision furniture's products to some of the largest and best known companies in far back Asia, the regions Of America and rest of the world for a long time.
3. Why are you purchasing any software to do their job, will this software benefit you and your future clients?
before you are qualified,you must have Computer and Printer with internet ready and get Check Soft 2008 at Staples or Office Max store around you and have it downloaded on your computer.
Enough said, another way to scam.
|
|
 |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools |
 Show Printable Version
 Email this Page
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Rules
|
|
|
| Thread |
Thread Starter |
Forum |
Replies |
Last Post |
|
Not sure if this is a SCAM????Please read!
|
AngelicaP33 |
Work At Home Scams |
2 |
09-15-2009 11:35 AM |
|
Is this email a scam?
|
AHawkins |
Work At Home Scams |
8 |
09-10-2009 12:28 PM |
|
Is this a scam?
|
Ask Viki! |
Work At Home Scams |
10 |
11-21-2008 11:23 AM |
|
is this a scam?
|
boopluvr |
Work At Home Scams |
3 |
08-28-2008 02:47 AM |
|
Is this a scam?
|
vinitava |
Work At Home Scams |
18 |
07-01-2008 11:20 AM |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.
|
Featured VA websites:

In Essence Virtual Assistance

Porter Office Solutions

Virtually Everything Office
Get featured!
|