I received an unsolicited e-mail today from someone who stated they needed a virtual assistant. I was so excited because this was my first inquiry, but my gut told me to do a background check first before answering. Luckily I did because I found out that this was a scam.
The e-mail address the message came from is:
alfredlombado@yahoo.com Here is the body of the message:
Hello, my name is Ted Grant. I operate a consultancy
firm here with name and registered address as follows:
Xpress Solutions, 37 old Lilly BLVD, London NE7 9KP.
A client of mine who is due to arrive in the United
States in few weeks time is interested in your virtual
services. Can you tell me a little more about your
mode of operation?
If interested, please reply
Thanks
Ted Grant.
When the listed address did not check out, I googled the e-mail address and found a few blogs that reported this as a scam:
(from
http://activerain.com/blogsview/131714/New-Scam-or-so)
I received an email a month or so ago from a prospective client. His coroporation is based in London and he had business in Atlanta for a few months and would require a Virtual Assistant to help him while he was here.
I sent the proposal/contract and everything was running along smoothly and on time..
I received the cashiers check that I required (upfront payment), however it was for a bit more than our agreement.
He stated it was an oversight by his accountant located here in the states and had asked if I would be so kind as to send him the overage via Western Union. At first I agreed and stated no problem. Then my brain kicked in I looked at this cashiers check closely, everything look legitimate right down to the water marks!!!!!
I decided to call the bank it was drawn off from to verify that this was infact a check from their bank.It is not..
These people whoever they are have created many of these checks and have sent them all over the US. I am one of the lucky people who just knew better than to even deposit it.
The initial email I received was:
Hello, my name is Todd Mayer and I am from London .
I run a consultancy firm here with registered address 544 Oilskin Road off Anted BLVD, SE15 6HH .
One of my high net worth client is due to arrive in the United States in few weeks time and is interested in your services. Can you tell me a little more about yourself and your mode of operation?
If interested, please reply
Thanks
Todd
I have forwarded the information to Yahoo to see if they can shut this person down. This person was slick enough to change their name after Todd Meyer began popping up all over the internet, so they may be in the process of changing e-mail addresses also.