Work At Home Scams

Learn about how to avoid work-at-home scams and post scam emails you've received.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
Ask Viki!'s Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: Ask Viki! Ltd.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wayne Township Ohio
Posts: 223
Blog Entries: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Ask Viki! Send a message via AIM to Ask Viki! Send a message via Yahoo to Ask Viki! Send a message via Skype™ to Ask Viki!
Default Is this a scam?
Hello everyone!

I received this email message twice this morning. The email was in my inbox, but says 'andydavidson4real@gmail.com' as the To address. Do you think it's a scam?

<<Hello,
How you doing?
My name is Andy Davidson. Originally, from Canada, New York. I work in USA presently.
I read your description and am interested in your services,I will be importing some computers into the states soon. The PC are laptops Pentium 3 dell & hp Computers...i want you to Install softwares, clean inner & outer computer components and update softwares to current status. They are about 10;10 computers. I have a shipping company that will ship them to and from you . So don't worries about that . I will be providing the softwares to be installed . Installation of softwares; anti virus,Microsoft excel,powerpoint,adobe pagemaker,microsoft office,coral draw and dvd player. These are the softwares I will provide and will provide each drivers/license keys for this softwares .

Get back to me with a price for 20 computers . I will like you to know this wont be an end to our transaction as I will be able to introduce you to more of my friends in this field depending on charges as we recently lost our engineer for as regards. I might have more work for you in the near future. Let me know.

Let me know if you'll accept money order or check as mode of payment.
I await your urgent response so that i can put arrangements in order.
Thanks
Andy Davidson>>
__________________
Need Help? Ask Viki!
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to Louise C
Default Re: Is this a scam?
Hi Viki

Sounds like what Andy has done is put his own address in the 'To' box and put a number of recipients in the 'BCC' box, that way it will be sent back to him, and also to anyone he has in the BCC box and nobody will know who else is getting the e-mail.

We have to be careful over the 'public airwaves' about saying whether something is or is not a scam. But if you are curious maybe he should supply a website or something that would prove his bona fides?

I certainly haven't heard about this one before?

L.
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
leedrozak's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: My Office Assistant
Small Business Practical Times: Web Security: Password Protection
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,263
Blog Entries: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to leedrozak Send a message via Skype™ to leedrozak
Default Re: Is this a scam?
I would ask Andy to provide more details so you can thoroughly check him out. I always apply the to good to be true rule once I have all the details. You can always check the BBB if you have further doubts.
__________________
Lee Drozak
My Office Assistant
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
Contributing Member
Company name: The 25th Hour VA
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 138
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via AIM to anisemama Send a message via Yahoo to anisemama Send a message via Skype™ to anisemama
Default Re: Is this a scam?
My alarm bells are ringing all over the place with this one.

As Louise said, it sounds like he used his email as the To:, and Bcc'd, which is a common spam/scam tactic.

The poor grammar is also a flag to me.

Also, asking about money order or check. I don't accept money order or checks because they are now very, very commonly used as a scam.

A scammer will order a prodcut or service from a small company that costs $800. Then they'll send a money order for $1500, saying, "Hey, can you refund me the difference." The poor sap/mark then deposits the $1500, and takes $700 out of their account, sending it as either a legit check or a legit money order, to the customer as a refund. Then the original money order turns out to be a fake. The sap/mark is now out $700 of their own money, has to pay bank fees, and may be investigated by fraud, and is even more screwed if they already sent the product or performed the service!

If you think they might remotely be legit, insist on payment by PayPal or some other secure payment method. As many people as there are that rant about PayPal, anymore, it really is safer than money orders and checks.
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
Rebecka Melson's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Business Services
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 1,118
Send a message via Skype™ to Rebecka Melson
Default Re: Is this a scam?
It's a scam! First of all, if you have to put "4real" in your email title, it's not. Secondly, Canada is not in New York. Thirdly, he writes like he's not from this country. Lastly, it's a computer import/export scam that has been seen a million times.
__________________
Rebecka Melson ~ Virtual Business Services
Reply With Quote
    #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to Louise C
Default Re: Is this a scam?
A bona fide businessman would go through the proper channels for getting quotes etc. (not by sending random e-mails from a gmail address surely?) and would not claim he was a Canadian/New Yorker () when he obviously can't even speak English!

Louise
Reply With Quote
    #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2008
kathiemt's Avatar
Banned
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
Virtual Assistant - THE Blog: How do I get clients as a Virtual Assistant?
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 974
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Is this a scam?
Run away from it. I mean, why would someone contact a VA to ask them to assist with the importing of computers and setting them up and installing software? Wouldn't they be better off contacting a service that specialises in that? Don't respond to the email - just ignore them. And please don't accept money orders or checks from offers like this.
Reply With Quote
    #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2008
ciboney's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: Ciboney Virtual Solutions
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grenada, USA
Posts: 595
Send a message via Yahoo to ciboney Send a message via Skype™ to ciboney
Default Re: Is this a scam?
I agree. You might want to avoid this one.
__________________
Carlana Charles - Ciboney Virtual Solutions
Web: http://ciboneyvirtual.com Blog:http://ciboneyvirtual.com/blog
Reply With Quote
    #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2008
LawrenceSN's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Is this a scam?
Sorry, but my scam alarm is going off so loudly I can barely hear myself think. This is sort of like the African businessman/prince/whatever who wants you to deposit a check for him and then send him the cash. Real? No, I don't think so.
__________________
NuTech VA
www.NuTechVA.com
Reply With Quote
    #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2008
Desert DiVA's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 34
Default Re: Is this a scam?
It sounds like a reworded "Nigerian" scam. Not to say he is from Nigeria that's just what the postal inspectors/law enforcement types are calling this type of activity.
He is from "Canada, New York", which is interesting....and kinda funny.
I generally delete unsolicited emails that make no mention of my name or company ("Tamara I saw your website or blog and would like more info on your services...etc...") Also, as stated before, the To and From Boxes generally will give you all the information you need to decide whether to respond or not.
__________________
Tamara
www.desertdivassistant.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can a new VA tell if an inquire is a scam? karibean Work At Home Scams 18 06-30-2009 06:50 PM
is this a scam? boopluvr Work At Home Scams 3 08-28-2008 02:47 AM
Scam in the classifieds lanelt Work At Home Scams 9 08-06-2008 11:04 AM
Is this a scam? vinitava Work At Home Scams 18 07-01-2008 11:20 AM
Another Todd Mayer SCAM Remote Admin Services Work At Home Scams 6 04-28-2008 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable Logo Design
Virtual Assistant Contracts
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.