 |
 |
|
 |

02-27-2008
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 971
|
|
Online Auction Block - new scam warning
Been getting heaps of these overnight - they're targeting VAs.
Online Auction Block. is an exciting business that simplifies the online auction process. We have established sellers who sell items through auctions worldwide providing higher sales profits to clients. These positions will be vital to the success of Online Auction Block as we continue growing our business.
We are currently recruiting for the positions of Virtual Office Assistants, part-time and full-time available.
The positions focus on providing administrative assistance in online sales.
Part-time and full-time positions available
Part-time: Three hours per day during either one of these shifts:
9:00am-12:00pm 11:00am-2:00pm 12:00pm-3:00pm
2:00pm-5:00pm
Full Time: Six hours per day during either one of these shifts:
9:00am-3:00pm 11:00am-5:00pm
Salary
Part-time: $1,500/month and commission
Full-time: $3,000/month and commission
Professional Qualities:
- Customer focused decision maker
- Demonstrates a high level of personal accountability
- Thinks about the team first over personal agendas
- Learning adaptive
- Process driven
Basic Requirements for Virtual Office Assistant:
- Internet Access
- Microsoft Office
- Proficient PC user
- Basic Accounting skills
If interested in the proposal please email your resume to (address removed) stating whether you are interested in full-time or part-time position and we will send you the start up details.
Thank You,
Online Auction Block Team
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 8,935
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
These just keep coming don't they? Thanks very much for the heads up on this one Kathie. I never seem to get these in my own inbox.
I found a question on Yahoo Answers regarding the same company but are we certain this is a scam? I found a (seemingly) valid company at the .net and they are sellers on ebay. ??
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 971
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
My personal feeling is that individuals approach VAs for work to be done - companies tend to advertise and not harvest email addresses to push what they want. Why would they want to waste that time and effort when they can advertise and get heaps of people responding to their ads?
Also - commission? VAs are self-employed operators, not sales people or employees.
Their email gave no weblink or any background information about their business, or even where they got my details from. I got the same email about a half dozen times - all sent from different people with different domain addresses but all with the same email address listed to send my details to.
Their domain oab-jobs.com is not live. They have also been sending this to heaps and heaps of VAs.
In the past, when I've had a genuine organisation or company contact me, they've always given me background information on who they are, introduced themselves and explained where they found me. They also don't tend to send out the same email multiple times from several names and approach heaps of people all at once.
So, yes, I do believe this to be a scam and I'm betting if people respond they probably get asked to process payments or something.
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 8,935
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
Gotcha, and I do agree with you...just wanted to make sure 
The domain I found was an actual replica of the company name but on .net - since I didn't see the email address used for this one I didn't realize there was a discrepancy there too.
And you're so right-about the mass mail thing...that makes perfect sense.
Thanks again Kathie for the heads up on this one!
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 971
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
I should add I believe they're targetting Australian VAs so this may explain why you haven't seen it yet but other Aussie VAs here may well have. Many of my team also received it overnight multiple times from many senders. I'm guessing they'll try us first and then move to other countries to try their luck - I've seen that happen before.
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 8,935
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
Well it's good of you to post here so the rest of us can be aware.
I actually never rec'v *any* of the VA scams in my email (but is likely because I no longer have a VA business site...)
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 971
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
That's the great thing about this industry - we all look out for each other!
|
|

02-27-2008
|
 |
Resident Member
Company name: A Virtual Assistant in Paradise
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,853
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
Thanks for the heads up!
|
|

02-29-2008
|
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
I also received one of these emails yesterday and was so excited but after printing off their application form, became suspicious of it's unprofessional look and in one of the emails addressed it to my husband, thats when I found your site. Thanks for warning people about it!
|
|

02-29-2008
|
 |
Active Member
Company name: A Clayton's Secretary
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 971
|
|
Re: Online Auction Block - new scam warning
Originally Posted by Maxisa
|
|
I also received one of these emails yesterday and was so excited but after printing off their application form, became suspicious of it's unprofessional look and in one of the emails addressed it to my husband, thats when I found your site. Thanks for warning people about it!
|
I'm so glad you found the warning Maxisa - I really do want to save anyone new out there problems. You get to smell these things at a distance after awhile.
I see you're from my old hometown. I grew up in Adelaide but have been in Melbourne since December 1991. Mum and dad still live in Elizabeth and my husband's sister is in the Clare Valley.
|
|
 |
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.
|
|