Work At Home Scams

Learn about how to avoid work-at-home scams and post scam emails you've received.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2008
colagray
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
Hi,

I am new to this forum but I am really interested in earning extra income at home in addition to my day job. I am currently an administrator for a government sponsored health insurance program. The job is rewarding in that we help children get enrolled in health benefits with various plans, but the job just doesn't pay enough. I am truly interested in something with better earning potential and would prefer something online. However, my experience with NCTSPRO was anything but encouraging.

I paid the $12.95 and figured I'd give this company a shot. Then while waiting days then weeks for the password I decided to check the BBB's site for info on this company. The results weren't good so I figured I probably should kiss my money good bye. Lol.

Once they finally sent me the password to their site's user entry area, I discovered the password would not work. I never got access to the site and I contacted them to let them know. Weeks later they said I needed to enter the info in again and gave me all the possible reasons why it may not be working. As if I am some inexperienced-new to computers-idiot. Lol. No matter what they were trying to spin, it was all bull. THE PASSWORD WAS A JOKE. They probably never meant for it to work. And who has time to wait 2-3 weeks for them to get back to you. I finally just gave up. Lol..

I hate to see people get taken advantage of so I want you all to know what happened to me, so you can make sure this doesn't happen to you.

I asked them for a refund and they shot me their disclaimer so please NOTE: YOU WON'T GET A REFUND IF THEY HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY ABOUT. THEY PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MONEY EVEN IF YOU NEVER GET THE SERVICE THEY OFFER! KEEP THIS IN MIND AND TREAD CAREFULLY.[/QUOTE]

Originally Posted by Tess View Post
I've noticed quite a few searches for 'NCTS Scam' bringing people to this thread - has anyone else here on the forums had any interaction with this website?

(It still looks the *same* as it did when we started this conversation...)
Reply With Quote
    #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2008
ciboney's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: Ciboney Virtual Solutions
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grenada, USA
Posts: 595
Send a message via Yahoo to ciboney Send a message via Skype™ to ciboney
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
That's not good at all. Always do your homework before you put out any sort of money.
__________________
Carlana Charles - Ciboney Virtual Solutions
Web: http://ciboneyvirtual.com Blog:http://ciboneyvirtual.com/blog
Reply With Quote
    #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
Here's another clue on their legitimacy

Go to http://www.nctspro.com/ and look at the "Employee of the Month" and right click on the photo...it's hotlinked from Central Washington University website. The woman is listed as "Jannet Callaway" on the NctsPro site ... but, Hmmmmm

Look at this...

http://www.cwu.edu/~hr/ec/eotm/2006/owensk.html

See a familiar face - it looks like her real name is Kristina Owens.

I'm pretty sure that sums up the legitimacy of NCTSPro.com

Gotta laugh at their stupidity and laziness for hotlinking the photo.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
Originally Posted by colagray View Post
Hi,

I am new to this forum but I am really interested in earning extra income at home in addition to my day job. I am currently an administrator for a government sponsored health insurance program. The job is rewarding in that we help children get enrolled in health benefits with various plans, but the job just doesn't pay enough. I am truly interested in something with better earning potential and would prefer something online. However, my experience with NCTSPRO was anything but encouraging.

I paid the $12.95 and figured I'd give this company a shot. Then while waiting days then weeks for the password I decided to check the BBB's site for info on this company. The results weren't good so I figured I probably should kiss my money good bye. Lol.

Once they finally sent me the password to their site's user entry area, I discovered the password would not work. I never got access to the site and I contacted them to let them know. Weeks later they said I needed to enter the info in again and gave me all the possible reasons why it may not be working. As if I am some inexperienced-new to computers-idiot. Lol. No matter what they were trying to spin, it was all bull. THE PASSWORD WAS A JOKE. They probably never meant for it to work. And who has time to wait 2-3 weeks for them to get back to you. I finally just gave up. Lol..

I hate to see people get taken advantage of so I want you all to know what happened to me, so you can make sure this doesn't happen to you.

I asked them for a refund and they shot me their disclaimer so please NOTE: YOU WON'T GET A REFUND IF THEY HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY ABOUT. THEY PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MONEY EVEN IF YOU NEVER GET THE SERVICE THEY OFFER! KEEP THIS IN MIND AND TREAD CAREFULLY.
[/QUOTE]

Whoa - I didn't see this post when I replied. There has to be something we could do. But I'm sure they'd fold up and reopen under a new name.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
Originally Posted by jeannedb View Post
Here's another clue on their legitimacy

Go to http://www.nctspro.com/ and look at the "Employee of the Month" and right click on the photo...it's hotlinked from Central Washington University website. The woman is listed as "Jannet Callaway" on the NctsPro site ... but, Hmmmmm

Look at this...

http://www.cwu.edu/~hr/ec/eotm/2006/owensk.html

See a familiar face - it looks like her real name is Kristina Owens.

I'm pretty sure that sums up the legitimacy of NCTSPro.com

Gotta laugh at their stupidity and laziness for hotlinking the photo.
Wow Jeanne, good sleuthing - that right there says volumes about them. I never even thought to check things like image properties...

I guess we've established NCTS / NCTSPro.com is a scam.
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
I'm passing along the info about this site to as many people online as I possibly can. I'm really peeved that they are specifically targeting women/moms.

I see that they use Google checkout and I'm looking into some recourse there.

I just finished up two jobs and have a smidge of downtime...antsy to DO SOMETHING here!
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: NCTS virtual assistant info (scam?)
Proactive is so great, Jeanne - let me know if there's anything we can do to back you up or support this effort (this thread is already indexed and actually gets quite a large number of clicks every month, so that's good - people are searching for info on this company!)
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Hire a Virtual Assistant? equipbiz General Marketing and Networking 19 12-31-2009 12:55 AM
What Is a Virtual Assistant? bsetc Business Development 6 12-24-2007 06:42 AM
Scam Warning - Todd Mayer - London SpriteAbby Work At Home Scams 3 12-07-2007 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable WordPress Themes
Create a Professional New Client Welcome Packet
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.