Work At Home Scams

Learn about how to avoid work-at-home scams and post scam emails you've received.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
This came across a Michigan VA mail-list. The person that received the email doesn't even have a resume on CareerBuilder (first clue that it's a scam of course).

Quote:
From: chadwick sorel [mailto:jesse0975@att.net]
Sent: Tuesday, February 26, 2008 2:14 PM
To: email address removed by me
Subject: Re: Response to Resume

Lotus, a luxury goods company, based in Netherlands, is currently seeking
virtual assistants to work at the convenience of their home, part-time. We
have reviewed your resume on Careerbuilder and would like to consider you
for this position.

Lotus presents the best off-season luxury finds from the most prestigious
international designers and collectibles from the rarest collections at
irresistible prices.

Candidates for the job should possess excellent organizational skills as
well as the ability to efficiently multi-task. Ideal candidates have a
strong focus on day-to-day operational excellence, and a personal style that
builds trust, and inspires loyalty. The candidate should be motivated,
proactive, be able to learn and adapt quickly.

Other duties of the Virtual Assistant include, but are not limited to:

? Incorporating effective priorities for the virtual office function
? Administer day-to-day financial responsibilities for clients
? Reporting online daily
? Preparing brief summary reports, and weekly financial reports

Salary part-time: $1,200/month, plus commission.

In the attachments you will find the agreement with a detailed job
description. If you are interested in this trial period, which will last for
two months, during which you will receive training, salary, and commission,
please see the attached agreement. Upon successful completion of the trial
period you will receive a contract to continue working with Lotus, have an
option to change from part-time to full-time or continue working part-time.

Please read carefully the trial period agreement, complete, sign, and
forward back to us either via email to Kate.Stewart@lotus-jobs.com or by fax
+31-20-890-8567. If you have any questions please email
Kate.Stewart@lotus-jobs.com

Thank You,
Lotus Team
I googled the first line of the email and found a posting on a usenet group that appeared to have come from a different email address (but who knows really).

The person who received this did not post the attachments. In fact, I'm not even certain that she opened them. But it does appear to be a scam.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
Why do all of these scams offer $1,200 per month? (That seems to be a common theme among them)
Thanks for posting Jeanne - I sent them an email of interest to see if I could get any more perspective on what they're up to and copies of the attachments. I'll post back if anything comes up.
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
Office Goddess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: The Virtual Office Goddess, LLC
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,966
Send a message via Skype™ to Office Goddess
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
The scams just keep coming, don't they? *sigh*
__________________
Lily Chambers, The Virtual Office Goddess, LLC
Author "How to Do Your Own Small Business Bookkeeping"
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
I actually rec'd a reply and did open the attachment (a word doc with out any company letterhead, address, NOTHING to ID who or what or where...)

I honestly can't tell if it's a scam or just really shoddy paperwork BUT the doc is a 'contract' of sorts and if you sign it you are labeled 'Employee'.
There is NO info about rate of pay, compensation for the 'employee' or what the actual job is.
Also, the domain they use for email comes up as a 403 (forbidden)

Either way, not something I would bother to pursue.
Just because I felt like playing Devil's advocate, I wrote back and told her what I thought of her 'contract' and it's lack of real info as well as defined the role of a VA for her.
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
vainparadise's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: A Virtual Assistant in Paradise
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,854
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to vainparadise
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
Aren't you on a roll tonight Tess

Too many scams lately and the spam on CL is amazing lately. Anyone see the VA add that the person charges $5 and hour?
__________________
Dawn Riley
A Virtual Assistant in Paradise
Our business is about making yours better
Reply With Quote
    #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
Nope hadn't seen that one...are they in the States??
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
vainparadise's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: A Virtual Assistant in Paradise
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,854
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to vainparadise
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
It appears that they are. Same posting and some are flagged and some aren't.
__________________
Dawn Riley
A Virtual Assistant in Paradise
Our business is about making yours better
Reply With Quote
    #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008
virtual writing's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Writing and Communications
Latest blog post: Triberr lament
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 1,410
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
It's crazy! As - I think it was - Tess pointed out, people must be falling right and left for these scams, else they wouldn't proliferate like this. Sigh. Whata world.
__________________
Mary H. Ruth/Virtual Writing & Communications
http://www.writingVA.com
Reply With Quote
    #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2008
ciboney's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: Ciboney Virtual Solutions
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grenada, USA
Posts: 595
Send a message via Yahoo to ciboney Send a message via Skype™ to ciboney
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
These people never stop!
__________________
Carlana Charles - Ciboney Virtual Solutions
Web: http://ciboneyvirtual.com Blog:http://ciboneyvirtual.com/blog
Reply With Quote
    #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: Lotus, A luxury goods company - possible scam
I think there are a lot of young women (mostly women) trying to break into this field and some are desperate for that first client and for others the idea of a monthly income potential is tempting.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a touch of 'luxury' to your virtual assistance practice Tess General Client Relations 12 01-19-2010 05:51 AM
5 Ways to Improve Your Company’s Vibe bsetc General Client Relations 5 03-15-2008 12:50 AM
Fast Company Magazine ~ Scuttling Scut Work Cardinal Point Business Development 6 02-21-2008 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable Logo Design
Virtual Assistant Contracts
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.