Work At Home Scams

Learn about how to avoid work-at-home scams and post scam emails you've received.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
Noiseworker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Harry Carson - Harry Books SCAM
I just received an enquiry via email. This sounds quite suspicious to me. For one thing, he says he needs part-time assistants in India, where my ad on Craigslist made it quite clear that I live in Australia. Secondly...Hs offer had absolutely nothing to do with what I was advertising. The job description itself is just vague. Plus I don't trust any job offers that come from a gmail or Hotmail account.

Is this a scam? Has anyone else received this email? Could someone in the US possibly verify these contact numbers or addresses?


Quote:
EDITOR HARRY CARSON
NAME OF COMPANY: Editor Harry Books
TITLES: CEO, Editor, Typist, Typesetter, and Reviewer
EMAIL ADDRESS:- editorharrybooks@gmail.com
HOME ADDRESS:-160-20 76th Ave, Flushing, NY 11366, USA.
TEL:-408-335-4500
FAX:-408-335-4507

ATTN:-PART-TIME JOB OFFER

My name is Harry Carson, I am the CEO & Editor of Harry books.

In respect to your resume post here on Craigslist.org ,As for credentials, I have been blessed with the opportunity to provide
editing services to many published, self-published and first-time authors,such as Michelle McGriff, author of The Majestic Series and Temporary Rain,Jessica Tilles, author of Anything Goes, Sabrina McAfee, author of Matters of the Heart, Mr. Carl Weber, CEO & Publisher of UrbanBooks and author of Baby Momma Drama, and a slew of many other notable authors.

You can work for me Part Time from home,Due to our increase in customers i am searching for representatives in INDIA while I am away. I will be away for a 6months course in South London.I will need your service so that you will be receiving payment of orders from my customers in ASIAN who pay on installment via Bank Payment.

These are the duties:-
You are to make a record of every payment that you receive. You are to send me weekly report. Your 2nd duty is that you'll be paying a certain amount to my agent from the money every 2weeks .

Payment:-
As for your pay,For the first month I can start with you for $500USD/week note that this can be increase if a good and dedicated service is rendered. Any interested candidate can write me back to my personal email address at:- editorharrybooks@gmail.com

**Please no Headhunting***

Thank You

Sincerely,
Harry Carson
CEO & Editor.
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
OrganizedAssistant's Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: Organized Assistant
From the Desk of Janet Barclay: Sharing My Passions
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 159
Blog Entries: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to OrganizedAssistant
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
The other "red flags" that I see are (a) the number of typos from someone who is supposedly an editor, and (b) the fact that he wants you to handle money. I would delete this one and not even give it a second thought.
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
Rebecka Melson's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Business Services
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 1,118
Send a message via Skype™ to Rebecka Melson
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
These are the duties:-
You are to make a record of every payment that you receive. You are to send me weekly report. Your 2nd duty is that you'll be paying a certain amount to my agent from the money every 2weeks .


This screams scam!
__________________
Rebecka Melson ~ Virtual Business Services
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
Wow, he's involved with a lot of different currencies and countries! You're in Australia, he's confusing you with India, you'll receive installments in some Asian currency, he's in South London, and yet at the end of the day, he'll pay you $500/week US Dollars - really helpful when you're in Australia.

If only there was a way to scam the scammer - or at least get him arrested.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
The paragraph about handling money tells it all.....
Sorry to say it sure looks like a scam - thank you for posting this though, hopefully the info will help others from being sucked in!
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2008
White Rose's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: Brevos
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 871
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
Certainly looks like a scam.
Reply With Quote
    #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008
Noiseworker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
Good to know i'm not the only one who saw a huge mass of red flags! Cheers!
Reply With Quote
    #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008
Rebecka Melson's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Business Services
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 1,118
Send a message via Skype™ to Rebecka Melson
Default Re: Harry Carson - Harry Books
Definitely a scam. I received the same one and I don't have any ads out.
__________________
Rebecka Melson ~ Virtual Business Services
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a scam? vinitava Work At Home Scams 18 07-01-2008 11:20 AM
Wilson Web - free marketing books Modern Marketing Support General Marketing and Networking 4 04-30-2008 05:28 PM
CSS tutorials, books, etc? AnnaLisa Michalski Website Coding 4 11-15-2007 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable Logo Design
Virtual Assistant Contracts
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.