Work At Home Scams

Learn about how to avoid work-at-home scams and post scam emails you've received.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2008
Write Associate's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: The Write Associate
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 888
Default Cambridge Who's Who...?
Has anyone heard of Cambridge Who's Who? I received an "exclusive membership invitation" from them a few weeks ago, so I went to their website and applied for membership. I'd forgotten all about it until a selection representative called me today. We went through an interview process over the phone, and everything seemed legit - the lady said they have over 200,000 members (many who could use my services!) and had 24 million hits to their site (which looked very professional and impressive) last year. I was thrilled when the lady told me I seemed like an upstanding professional, and that she was going to accept me into their exclusive membership, which includes publication in their hardbound directory, access to online networking forums, a profile including a hyperlink to my site, and a press release submitted to all the major sites. Then she got into the price - over $1,000 for a lifetime membership or $900 for 5 years. Yikes! When I said that I would have to consult my husband and my budget, she started offering me deals, first for a 3-year package, then finally for a 1-year trial package "at cost" (which was still $200). She said that if I didn't make a decision right then, at the time of the offer, that the offer would expire. What??!! She wasn't trying to pressure me, she was trying to "get me a good deal", and that the reason they send out the letter and then wait a few weeks before contacting applicants is to give them time to think about the offer. Um...okay. The letter and website say absolutely nothing about a paid membership. I responded that she was pressuring me by trying to get a split-second decision requiring a large sum of money, and that the whole thing was making me uncomfortable. Meanwhile, while she was telling me all about her bargain deals, I was googling the company and finding several references of "scam" associated with the company's name. That, along with the bad feeling in my gut, was enough to convince me that it was a raw deal. So I politely but adamantly told her that I wasn't interested and ended the call.

And there goes twenty minutes of my life down the drain...lol. I just wanted to share this with you all so that you're aware in case they try to contact you. If anyone else has had experiences with this company, good or bad, please share!
__________________
Tammi Metzler ~ The Write Associate
Free call: "How to Write Email Subject Lines That Grab Attention!"
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2008
candctroll's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
I get faxes and letter from places like that all the time and just toss them.
__________________
-Amanda
www.virtualsolutionsmadesimple.com
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2008
A Novel Space's Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: A Novel Space
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 91
Send a message via Yahoo to A Novel Space Send a message via Skype™ to A Novel Space
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
I got a letter in the mail from them earlier this week. I get invites like this from them about twice a year. I usually toss them out, but this time I decided to hold onto it and consider the invite. However, having just read your post, I think I'm going to toss it out again.

I knew there was a reason why I keep throwing the invites away. Thanks for the reminder.
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
Geez...who pays that much for a listing in a yearbook???
Good call Tammi - let it go!

We should make our own Who's Who...Virtual Assistance
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2008
Write Associate's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: The Write Associate
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 888
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
Originally Posted by Tess View Post
Geez...who pays that much for a listing in a yearbook???
Good call Tammi - let it go!

We should make our own Who's Who...Virtual Assistance
LOL! What a good idea, Tess!
__________________
Tammi Metzler ~ The Write Associate
Free call: "How to Write Email Subject Lines That Grab Attention!"
Reply With Quote
    #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2008
KandiceKing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
I did a little looking and found their website. Not really impressed. I would never pay that much for so little. They would have to gaurantee me at least 3 clients a month lol.
Reply With Quote
    #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2008
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 48
Send a message via Skype™ to Shauna
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
I received something from them as well. Thanks for the heads up, Tammi. You just saved me 20 minutes. ;-)
__________________
Shauna Reed
Keystone Promise Virtual Assistance
Blog: Creative Writing Resource
Reply With Quote
    #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2008
Write Associate's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: The Write Associate
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 888
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
Originally Posted by Shauna View Post
I received something from them as well. Thanks for the heads up, Tammi. You just saved me 20 minutes. ;-)
No problem! I know how valuable those 20 minutes are when you're running a business!
__________________
Tammi Metzler ~ The Write Associate
Free call: "How to Write Email Subject Lines That Grab Attention!"
Reply With Quote
    #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
I received their info and decided to sign up online with my invitation code. What a mistake! They called while I was preparing for trial and they called every number imaginable. I even think they looked me up in some free directories because my parents received a call for me. After trial was vacation and even though the receptionist said I was out for the week a Cambridge rep called three times. I am glad I just read it because it is a complete sales pitch and it appears there is little benefit to signing up.
Reply With Quote
    #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: Cambridge Who's Who...?
Okay I had to do my thing and look up their domain in the Whois... Is this irony? The Who's Who has cloaked their own information in the Whois.

http://whois.domaintools.com/cambridgewhoswho.com

Any company that wants your money, especially using pressure tactics, and then doesn't include their own information in the Whois seems scammy to me.

I wonder how many Who's Who companies there are. Is there an official legitimate one and all of these others are copycat scammers? I can remember Who's Who from the time I was in high school (remember, I'm old so that was a long time ago). My dad was in an Engineer's Who's Who and received a plaque but never purchased a book (maybe his company did).
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable WordPress Themes
Create a Professional New Client Welcome Packet
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.