Website Coding

Stuck on a line of code? Find resources and post your coding questions here.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Possible site hacking?
This is not my site - it is the National Down Syndrome Society website (NDSS), a respected Down syndrome organization. I'm working on the resource section for a Down syndrome blog and wanted to use the description from their meta tags and found a huge amount of online pharmacy links, ******, levitra, etc in the source code. None of it shows up on the site.

This is the site http://www1.ndss.org/index.php - look at the source code and see what I mean.

Is this a case of hacking? Or is it some kind of new stealth advertising program. Maybe I'm naive, but I've never seen that before. I'm assuming it's been hacked and am sending them an email - but could I be wrong?
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008
virtual writing's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Writing and Communications
Latest blog post: Triberr lament
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 1,410
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Possible site hacking?
Whoa. That's really strange. Very interested to know what you find out about it. Creepy.
Boy, Jeanne, you don't miss a trick!
__________________
Mary H. Ruth/Virtual Writing & Communications
http://www.writingVA.com
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008
Tess's Avatar
Senior Member
Company name: Codehead, LLP
Latest blog post: SEO Q&A
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,131
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Possible site hacking?
Hi Jeanne,
Yikes! That is an awful lot of hidden links. Whether it's hacking or someone did these junk sites a 'favor' I'd definitely point it out to the site owner, or whoever you might be able to get in touch with.
At the very least, letting them know it's there and could easily be considered 'black hat' SEO by Google (and bump their otherwise very legit site off the search grid entirely) will be a favor to them.

Any webmaster who knows a thing or two about how search engines work knows there is nothing 'search legal' about hidden links so it's probably not intentional on the part of the host site.
__________________
Create a welcome packet for new clients with this guide and free templates!

(Available in PDF and Kindle versions)
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008
jeannedb's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: NowAssistingYou.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to jeannedb Send a message via MSN to jeannedb
Default Re: Possible site hacking?
I really didn't think it was intentional. I sent them an email yesterday and the links are gone today. The site is Joomla (at least I saw Joomla in the code), so I'm guessing it's a Joomla security issue.

Hopefully they can keep it from happening again.
__________________
Jeanne
NowAssistingYou.com

Virtual Assistant :: Web/Blog Design & Hosting :: Writer
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008
Codehead's Avatar
Administrator
Company name: Codehead LLP
My latest blog post: Mac Performance Benchmark App
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 175
Default Re: Possible site hacking?
It could be two things:

1 - Someone got paid to put them there, a designer, a developer etc.

2 - One of the latest techniques on black hat SEO is to hack websites and put hidden links in their source code.
Fortunately, Google and other search engines are great at detecting these automatically and these links are ignored but unfortunately the site that contains them will be penalized because it looks to Google like the site did this intentionally to make money or something.

Joomla and other open source software are vulnerable to hacking. The reason is everyone can see their source code and if there is a hole in there, hackers exploit it on websites who run the software.

It might be that their version of Joomla is old and they didn't upgrade it to the latest version and often this is the case when you find something like this has happened. New versions usually fix security issues and other bugs.

So here is the lesson from all of this:
If you use Joomla, Wordpress or any other software that is open source and free, be sure to upgrade to the latest version as soon as it's available!

I hope this helps
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge."
Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable WordPress Themes
Create a Professional New Client Welcome Packet
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.