| Scam Library! Did you receive an email or letter offering you a VA contract or work from home job that sounds too good to be true? Post here for the truth and browse previously posted scams. |
 |

09-18-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
|
|
Strange email
I received the following email and wonder what you all think. Right now, I'm not interested in responding but might just out of curiosity unless someone knows who these people are. If I respond, I will have more than a few questions about who they are, who they represent, etc. before I send any information about myself.
Hello!
My company is looking to hire a new virtual assistant.
Their main function would be a content writer to write web content and eBooks. Ideally we'd like to build a long-term relationship with a copy writer. If you're a very good English writer, you are loyal, and you communicate well please send us your resume! If you understand blogging, article marketing, sales letters, and eBooks you will have an advantage over your competition. All of your articles will be written in English with proper grammar and spelling. We need a reputable person who is trustworthy and does not plagiarize. We will obviously check the quality and originality of your work. If you can write high quality, informative, and interesting content this is the job for you. You will need to be able to meet deadlines promptly. Please provide samples of your work and references via pdf only.
We will begin with some simple articles on subjects and titles that we will be provided. You will need to do your own research about the topics. We will be selecting the VA/writer(s) based on quality of the work, past experience, and qualifications. Please email your resume (pdf only) and tell us something about what makes you or your company different! Include your expected compensation as well. Please send them to vasearch@gmail.com
Thank you and good luck.
|

09-18-2009
|
 |
Resident Member
Company name: Action Jackson Virtual Assistant
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,264
|
|
Re: Strange email
It sounds to me like they are looking for ghost writers. This is a common request now a days. If you are interested I would follow up with your questions and see if it is something you would be interested in. It does not sound like a scam. But, if you are worried about them getting your resume with your personal info on it, then lock the PDF and make it viewable only.
Good luck,
Andrea
|

09-18-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Essential Office Solutions
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 357
|
|
Re: Strange email
I also received a message similiar awhile back and it did turn out to be from a foriegn country which was paying very low fees. The difference in my message was you could very easily by the incorrect spelling and grammar it was not from an American.
For safety's sake I would send a pdf with little personal information - such as address, phone number and company names on your resume/experience list - until you are comfortable with who they are.
Good luck - let us know how it turns out.
|

09-18-2009
|
 |
Resident Member
Company name: Virtual Writing and Communications
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 1,303
|
|
Re: Strange email
Jenny - I can understand why you're a little torn on this one. Maybe requiring them to answer your questions before you provide any further info is a good way to approach it.
If they ask you to write 'sample articles' from their topics or keywords, so they can decide whether or not to hire you, politely decline. I fell for this ploy, once. You never hear from them again after submitting your samples.
|

09-19-2009
|
 |
Resident Member
Company name: JK Virtual Office Resources
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,123
|
|
Re: Strange email
Did they include a real name or phone number? If not, I wouldn't even bother with it. Anyone who is legitimate is going to include their name or at the very least should include their business name.
It sounds completely fishy to me.
|

09-19-2009
|
|
Junior Member
Company name: Advantage Administrative Solutions
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, MN
Posts: 271
|
|
Re: Strange email
The first two things I look for is: 1)What time was the email sent? 2)What is their email address (a lot of the ones I have been getting are using gmail).
After I check those things, I then Google their name and email address. After I Google their business name and it comes up with nothing, I add the word "spam" after the name to make sure nothing comes up that way.
I also stopped applying to many virtual ads on many job sites, because most of them are scams. If it does not have the name of the company and I can research it, I do not apply to it anymore. I applied to a couple of them when I started out and each one of them wanted me to receive the checks and money orders, go to my bank and cash them, then contact them and send them the money.
|

09-19-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
|
|
Re: Strange email
Thanks everyone for the great feedback. I always see a red flag when I get emails for work from a gmail or any other public email account.
|

09-21-2009
|
|
New Member
Company name: Davis Virtual Assistance
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 10
|
|
Re: Strange email
I responded to this e-mail today asking for their company name, website and description. I got back a very terse e-mail saying that other VA's had no problem giving out their information for a blind ad AND that they are seeking VA's for public people... some of whom I would have heard of.
I deleted their response. Honestly, they must think I'm an idiot if I think a public person would be looking for a cheap copyrighter!
Bonnie
|

09-22-2009
|
 |
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
|
|
Re: Strange email
I also responded asking for more information but didn't hear back so I've deleted the email and blocked the address.
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.
|
|