Virtual Assistant Directory
"The resources here are invaluable, and the connections made between members are worth even more!"
Brianna - Virtual Solutions Admin
Go Back   Virtual Assistant Forums | Virtual Assistant Network > CONTRACTS, LEGALESE, AND TAXES > General Legal Topics
Register Events VA Directory B2B PARTNERS RFPs Features Chat Groups Blogs Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Legal Topics Discussion and resources related to other legalities that are important to or may impact your virtual assistance practice.

Bookmark this page to: del.icio.us Digg Furl StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! My Web Google Bookmarks Windows Live Netscape reddit BlinkList Newsvine ma.gnolia Tailrank
Search the forums:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Offsite Office Professionals's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
Blog Entries: 2
Default Does anyone know what this email means

I received this email and I'm not sure what it means. Anyone have any idea?

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company's domain names and keywords in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the July 2, We have received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “offsiteofficepro” as their domain names and Internet keyword in Chinese area.

Since after our investigation we found that this word has been in using by your company, and this may include your company name or trade mark, so we inform you in no time. If you consider these domain names or internet keywords are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first. contact us soon. Thanks for your co-operation and support.

In order to avoid the law problems invovled,we need to confirm with you first.If you consider these domain names are not important,please don't reply this email,we will cooperate with the third company
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Stewartwin's Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: S-M Office Solutions
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to Stewartwin Send a message via Yahoo to Stewartwin Send a message via Skype™ to Stewartwin
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

It sounds like it is either a scam (don't send them any information until they are verified), or someone else is trying to register your domain. Be careful!
__________________
Winston Stewart
S-M Office Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Offsite Office Professionals's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Yes, they listed their domain in the salutation so I checked with whois and there is no such domain listed. I sent a copy of the email to Bluehost where I have my domain registered to see what they have to say. There is no way I'm going to send any information to them since their domain isn't legitimate. Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Wordpro Wizard's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: The Wordpro Wizard
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 325
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Sounds like a scam through and through. A non-existant domain name is a big red flag and the poor english sounds like the ones we all get from the Nigerian scammers.

Lynne
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Contributing Member
Company name: Robinson Business Solutions
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bowmanville, ON
Posts: 147
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Definitely wait to see what Bluehost says. It sounds incredibly fishy.
__________________
Heather
Robinson Business Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Olinda Services's Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: Olinda Services
Olinda Services Blog: WordPress Hosted or Self-Hosted
VA Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 183
Blog Entries: 3
Send a message via AIM to Olinda Services Send a message via MSN to Olinda Services Send a message via Skype™ to Olinda Services
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

A client received a similar email 18 months ago and it was a scam. Ignore it!
__________________
Lisa Olinda of Olinda Services
Keeping you on the path to success!
www.olindaservices.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Business-Bytes's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: SunRise Virtual Solutions
VA Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 710
Send a message via Skype™ to Business-Bytes
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Jenny, do you use Bluehost's privacy feature? This may be how this "company" got your information. The privacy feature used to be free with Bluehost, but now I see they charge $4.95 a year for it. Maybe check this out in your settings?
__________________
Jules
www.sunrisevirtualsolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Offsite Office Professionals's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Jules, I signed up for the Bluehost privacy feature so it should be in place. This was an email to my company email address which is @offsiteofficepro.com and it's posted on my site. I think I might add offsiteofficepro(TM) to the footer on all my pages.
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Business-Bytes's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: SunRise Virtual Solutions
VA Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 710
Send a message via Skype™ to Business-Bytes
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Quote:
Originally Posted by Offsite Office Professionals View Post
Jules, I signed up for the Bluehost privacy feature so it should be in place. This was an email to my company email address which is @offsiteofficepro.com and it's posted on my site. I think I might add offsiteofficepro(TM) to the footer on all my pages.
Okay, I see. What I think has happened is that your email address was harvested, so adding (TM) won't stop that. I tend to not use my email address on sites unless formatted using spaces and the word 'at' in place of the @ and the word 'dot' for the period before com/net, etc (EX: you at offsiteofficepro dot com [most actual humans know this is your email, but they need to format it correctly if contacting you]). It's more work, but I use a php CAPTCHA form that takes care of harvesting of emails on my sites (I put a 'contact' or 'contact me' link that goes to the form).

Irritating, isn't it? Sheesh.
__________________
Jules
www.sunrisevirtualsolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Offsite Office Professionals's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
VA Feedback: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Petersburg, West Virginia
Posts: 300
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means

Very irritating! This is kind of like closing the barn door after the horse gets out but I'll try your suggestion for the email address. Thanks!
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you put in your email signature? White Rose General Marketing and Networking 38 11-09-2009 12:14 AM
[Question] How do you manage your email? iSimplify Phone, VOIP, Fax, Email 16 01-18-2009 09:34 AM
Twitter Means Business by Julio Ojeda-Zapata Write Associate Book Reviews 10 01-02-2009 11:40 PM
Email Mgmt VBSOnDemand General Billing and Invoicing 12 12-11-2008 05:38 PM
What NOT to do in a marketing email lanelt Newsletters and Email Marketing 3 07-26-2008 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.
Fantastic Facebook Pages
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Virtual Assistant Directory
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising
[Click here to read our reviews.]
Virtual Assistant Interview
VAF Community:
glamour_ny Remote Admin Services merc3069 shell_zaldivar obvusa ManageUrLife Ladycharliy MissMichelle kdsellers t.brooke Rosebud Virtual Services LRexMA Virtual Business Concepts indigogirl cdiane62 joeju My Small Business Assistant kelli050 Elenora Lia-VSS Ava-VA
[Click here to join!]
Virtual Assistant Forums Interview
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising
Australian Virtual Assistants
Business Directory
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising
[Click here to read our reviews.]
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2010
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.