General Legal Issues

The legal structure of your business and general small business legal issues.

Forum Sponsor (Advertise with us)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
    #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 294
Blog Entries: 2
Default Does anyone know what this email means
I received this email and I'm not sure what it means. Anyone have any idea?

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company's domain names and keywords in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the July 2, We have received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “offsiteofficepro” as their domain names and Internet keyword in Chinese area.

Since after our investigation we found that this word has been in using by your company, and this may include your company name or trade mark, so we inform you in no time. If you consider these domain names or internet keywords are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first. contact us soon. Thanks for your co-operation and support.

In order to avoid the law problems invovled,we need to confirm with you first.If you consider these domain names are not important,please don't reply this email,we will cooperate with the third company
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
    #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Stewartwin's Avatar
Junior Member
Company name: PennWin Administrative Services
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 387
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via AIM to Stewartwin Send a message via Yahoo to Stewartwin Send a message via Skype™ to Stewartwin
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
It sounds like it is either a scam (don't send them any information until they are verified), or someone else is trying to register your domain. Be careful!
__________________
Winston Stewart
PennWin Administrative Services
Reply With Quote
    #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 294
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Yes, they listed their domain in the salutation so I checked with whois and there is no such domain listed. I sent a copy of the email to Bluehost where I have my domain registered to see what they have to say. There is no way I'm going to send any information to them since their domain isn't legitimate. Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
    #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Wordpro Wizard's Avatar
Active Member
Company name: The Wordpro Wizard
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 627
Send a message via Skype™ to Wordpro Wizard
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Sounds like a scam through and through. A non-existant domain name is a big red flag and the poor english sounds like the ones we all get from the Nigerian scammers.

Lynne
Reply With Quote
    #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Contributing Member
Company name: Robinson Business Solutions
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bowmanville, ON
Posts: 148
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Definitely wait to see what Bluehost says. It sounds incredibly fishy.
__________________
Heather
Robinson Business Solutions
Reply With Quote
    #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Olinda Services's Avatar
Contributing Member
Company name: Olinda Services
Olinda Services Blog: Carving Out Your Niche At Work
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 191
Blog Entries: 3
Send a message via AIM to Olinda Services Send a message via MSN to Olinda Services Send a message via Skype™ to Olinda Services
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
A client received a similar email 18 months ago and it was a scam. Ignore it!
__________________
Lisa Olinda of Olinda Services
Keeping you on the path to success!
www.olindaservices.com
Reply With Quote
    #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Business-Bytes's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: SunRise Virtual Solutions
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,043
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Business-Bytes
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Jenny, do you use Bluehost's privacy feature? This may be how this "company" got your information. The privacy feature used to be free with Bluehost, but now I see they charge $4.95 a year for it. Maybe check this out in your settings?
__________________
Jules, SunRise Virtual Solutions - WordPress Customization & XHTML/CSS Web Sites
Reply With Quote
    #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 294
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Jules, I signed up for the Bluehost privacy feature so it should be in place. This was an email to my company email address which is @offsiteofficepro.com and it's posted on my site. I think I might add offsiteofficepro(TM) to the footer on all my pages.
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
    #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Business-Bytes's Avatar
Resident Member
Company name: SunRise Virtual Solutions
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,043
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Business-Bytes
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Originally Posted by Offsite Office Professionals View Post
Jules, I signed up for the Bluehost privacy feature so it should be in place. This was an email to my company email address which is @offsiteofficepro.com and it's posted on my site. I think I might add offsiteofficepro(TM) to the footer on all my pages.
Okay, I see. What I think has happened is that your email address was harvested, so adding (TM) won't stop that. I tend to not use my email address on sites unless formatted using spaces and the word 'at' in place of the @ and the word 'dot' for the period before com/net, etc (EX: you at offsiteofficepro dot com [most actual humans know this is your email, but they need to format it correctly if contacting you]). It's more work, but I use a php CAPTCHA form that takes care of harvesting of emails on my sites (I put a 'contact' or 'contact me' link that goes to the form).

Irritating, isn't it? Sheesh.
__________________
Jules, SunRise Virtual Solutions - WordPress Customization & XHTML/CSS Web Sites
Reply With Quote
    #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009
Junior Member
Company name: Offsite Office Professionals, LLC
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 294
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Does anyone know what this email means
Very irritating! This is kind of like closing the barn door after the horse gets out but I'll try your suggestion for the email address. Thanks!
__________________
Jenny McKinney
http://www.offsiteofficepro.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to bill for Email Mgmt VBSOnDemand Rates and Billing 13 03-24-2011 08:17 PM
BOOK REVIEW - Twitter Means Business Write Associate Social Media Marketing 12 10-26-2010 11:52 PM
What do you put in your email signature? White Rose Newsletters and Email Marketing 38 11-09-2009 12:14 AM
[Question] How do you manage your email? iSimplify Phone, VoIP, Fax, Email 15 01-18-2009 09:34 AM
What NOT to do in a marketing email lanelt Newsletters and Email Marketing 3 07-26-2008 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.

International Virtual Assistants Association
Project Management for Virtual Assistants
Work from Home | Become A Virtual Assistant
Virtual Assistant Directory
Affordable Logo Design
Virtual Assistant Contracts
Virtual Assistant Forums Advertising

© Virtual Assistant Forums 2012
All content and images are protected under copyright law and may not be reproduced in any way without express written consent.